Designing your own book cover with stock photos!

Dear readers,

It is pretty easy to make your own book cover. If you have the time, and creative instincts. I used three stock photos to make my new book cover. It really just took me, maybe about an hour or less to create this cool book cover!

Pennie Small Promo

The materials you will need is photoshop.

Retrieving your photos!

Step 1: Open up a new canvas in photoshop. Dimensions: 2400 pixels by 1600 pixels. Background: Doesn’t matter….

Step 2: go to http://depositphotos.com/?ref=4769579 They have amazing photos! In my humble opinion, one of the best stock photo sites!

Step 3: Pick photos you would like to use from their website. Note: It is all about keywords. I knew, I wanted my character to reflect on the book cover. I type in the word albino at first. Flip through to photos, with no luck. Then, I type in albino woman, and this photo popped up! Remember to be specific as possible, when typing in keywords.

Portrait of mysterious albino woman

Portrait of mysterious albino woman

green leaves background

Note: For this photo, I used the keyword leaves background.

beautiful woman's eyes isolated on a white background

beautiful woman’s eyes isolated on a white background

Note: For this photo, I used the keyword green eyes at first. Then I moved on to more specific keywords, woman’s green eyes.

Step 4: Download the photos, you chose to use. Now, deposit photos offers small, x-small, medium, large, extra large, and etc. I always choose small. Note: They charge you more for larger files!

Step 5: Now you have the images, you want to use for your book cover. Flip, back to photoshop. The canvas you created earlier in step 1.

Creating the book cover!

Step 1: Use your character or the image, you want for the first layer. Open up your photo by using the file menu on photoshop. Do the following when your photo opens. Hit the CTRL button, and A button on your keyboard, must be done at same time (selects photo). Go back to your canvas, and Hit the CTRL button and V button, must be done at same time (pastes the photo on canvas). Hit the CTRL button and the T button, must be done at same time (assist you with resizing photo). My first layer was the albino woman.

Portrait of mysterious albino woman

Portrait of mysterious albino woman

Screenshot (41)

Step 2: Add another layer by repeating the steps above, in step 1. My second layer was the green woman’s eyes.

beautiful woman's eyes isolated on a white background

beautiful woman’s eyes isolated on a white background

Note: You must I cropped it, first. I cropped the image until, all I had was the actual green eye ball, and then duplicated the layer. Which I placed strategically, on the albino woman eyes, which was grey in the original photo. Hit the after you are done cropping, or adjusting the image. Do the same thing you did with the keyboard, as you did in the previous step. I also use the blending opinions. (Right click, the layer, and you will see blending as an option. Adjust to your taste). Advanced graphic artists, use more layers. For me, I just want to keep it simple.

Screenshot (43) Crop tool is the one that is selected.

Step 3: Create another layer. I used the leaves background.

green leaves background

Note: With this as with the green woman’s eyes. I had two layers for it. What I did was was. I opened up the photo using the steps as in step one. I adjusted the leaves background to the way, I wanted it. Then I realized another layer of this would make the photo really pop. I flipped the photo 180 degrees using the image tab on photoshop. After flipping it, I added it to the cavas and blended it using the blending method in step 2. [Right click, the layer, and you will see blending as an option. Adjust to your taste]

Screenshot (42)

Step 4: Moving on to font. This is all according to your preference. Font menu can be found here.

Screenshot (44)

Note: Make sure the text button is on and you have created a layer for title. Click anywhere on canvas to add font. I used a variety of fonts. Including: Gabriola Regular for my title, Adobe Gurmukhi Regular for the subtitle, and Impact Regular for my pen name.

Now you know how to make a simple book cover, the easiest way possible. If you have any questions, I can be reached at the link below!

Thank you for reading,

Mary Sage Nguyen

Author of

http://nebula.wsimg.com/12e93703cc13c52e1075f7b39af0ed5e?AccessKeyId=B63B5FF6E63C9149B6BF&disposition=0&alloworigin=1http://nebula.wsimg.com/6e94ff754cb2af0e9839fceaefe5dea8?AccessKeyId=B63B5FF6E63C9149B6BF&disposition=0&alloworigin=1

Entertaining readers, one book at a time! 

www.marysagenguyen.com

About Mary Sage Nguyen

Author, Dreamer, and Book Enthusiast! You can reach me at http://www.marysagenguyen.com/
This entry was posted in Author, Books, Designing, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

