8th Round by T.C O’Reilly

8th Book banner

8th round 3d8th Round
T.C O’Reilly

Genre: Science Fiction

Date of Publication: July, 2015

AISN: B01273FUFW

Ebook pages: 346

Word Count: 89,674

Book Blurb:

A virus has been released on Earth; a virus that no one can cure, quarantine, or prevent. It has ruined humanity, killing the majority of its population and sparing only a limited group of uninfected people. Those that have contracted the disease but not died are far worse off. There’s no way to stop it; no way for seven lifetimes.
Gifted with powers he doesn’t understand but is determined to use, Jakes has experienced life – and lifetimes – for seven rounds. The virus has ripped apart humanity time after time, and Jakes has been forced to watch his world fall apart in each case. This time, his eighth time — his eighth round — he is determined to never let it happen again. And this time he is confident. With the help of experts, family, and unexpected friends, Jakes will strive to finally end this virus before it begins; uncovering his past, his unexplained abilities, and the people who want to kill him for both.
THE 8TH ROUND is an interesting take on both the beloved Sci Fi stories of zombies and time travel. What I liked most about this book were the questions it posed and how it made me think. It takes great care to intertwine philosophy, science, and good old fashioned imagination — analyzing both science and time itself. There were many quality lines within that made me stop and think, analyzing exactly what this story says about time travel and the many paradoxes within.
How the virus is handled is unusual, explained in detail rather than the typical “zombie virus, ooh, unexplained, ooh, scary.” It actually makes a fair amount of sense and I quite enjoyed the reasoning behind it.
I thought the writing style itself could have been fleshed out a bit to show the scenes in greater depth, and I was a little confused on who the characters were at first. However, as the book goes on, it features a wide cast of people with their own motivations, important roles, and interesting reactions.
This book features a romantic subplot with a unique twist that I liked. I was very pleased to see a romantic subplot in a Sci Fi book that was just that – a subplot. I didn’t feel that it overwhelmed the actual story at any point, but remained in the wings to sprinkle a little tension here and there.
The flashbacks back and forth between the previous “rounds” and the current round were very interesting, as it showed not only the exciting elements zombie apocalypse lovers will enjoy, but also raised the stakes as to what the eight round’s world would experience if Jakes failed.
This book intertwined history with the future in subtle ways, and there were many interesting clues to multiple plot twists spread throughout. By reading this, you’ll definitely be experiencing many twists and turns and expected outcomes. There were several points in the plot that took me by surprise and I liked this.
I would recommend this book as a casual read for a fan of Sci Fi.
Written by Shiloh Farm

Available at Amazon
Follow Author at his Tumblr

ABOUT AUTHOR:autohr_foto

T.C O’Reilly attended The University of Free State where he studied law. He is a huge fan of his alma mater and is a proud to have attended such a prestigious university. He also works in the real estate market. He is the proud of father of two. Some of his favorite authors include Stephen King, Dean Koontz, John Grisham, and Justin Cronin. T.C O’Reilly writes suspense, horror and science fiction. His debut novel is 8th Round published in July of 2015.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW:

First I want to thank T.C Reilly for doing the interview with me. Read the interview below and found how intriguing he is!

1. What is your writing process?
Writing to me is currently more of a passtime than a job. I currently run my own business and therefore I don’t get a lot of time during the day to write. I do however try to take some time for myself every now and again. I like to go and sit in a quiet coffeeshop, with a pen and notebook and just focus on my storyline. At night I would sit with my tablet and do some research about whichever topic I am writing about in order to create a more authentic feel for the story that I am busy with. Other than that I have a lot of late nights and strong coffees, especially when I near the end of my book.

2. Who are your largest author influences?
I am a big fan of Stephen King, but I also enjoy, Dean Koontz, John Grisham, and more lately Justin Cronin.

3. What is your favorite book?
The Stand by Stephen King and coming in as a strong contender The Passage by Justin Cronin.

4. What are the five things people do not know about you?
• I own and manage my own property portfolio and guesthouses
• I have 2 lovely children. A 4 year old boy and 3 year old girl.
• I studied law at the University of the Free State.
• I support the Free state Cheetah rugby team and I am a full blooded Springbok supporter.
• My first name means Patriot.

5. What genre do you write?
Horror/suspense/sci-fi

6. What is your most recent book 8th Round about?
The main character Jakes has been sent back in time several rounds in his life. He has no idea why or how it happens. His main focus though is to find a cure for an oncoming plague that will basically wipe out humanity. With his knowledge of the future and a few additional abilities he battles against a group called the company who is facilitating this viral outbreak. He has various friend and family who helps him along the way and even a love interest with many complications that goes along with timetravel.

7. How do you come up with characters?
I don’t really come up with character, they all just sort of evolve and come to life as the story progresses. The names of the characters is actually more difficult than the characters themselves. So what I do is I combine the name and surname of different writers that I already know and like to give the characters new names.

8. What are your favorite characters in 8th Round and Why?
I like Both Danielle and Julia, for they are both very strong female characters and I believe I can even write a tie in story on each of them separately.

9. Is there a message behind 8th Round?
To never give up no matter what the circumstances.

10. How many books do you read a year?
I‘d say at least between 15 to 20

11. What is the last book you read?
I am actually busy with 4 books at the same time right now. One is called wool by Hugh Howey.

12. What is the hardest part in writing 8th Round?
Finding the time to just sit down and write.

13. What did you enjoy about writing 8th Round?
The fact that it every new page was as a surprise to me as it will be to the readers. I will be writing one page and still have no idea what will happen on the next.

14. How long did it take for you to write 8th Round?
Approximately 4 months, but I’m still editing as we speak.

15. Do you have any children or pets? If so, do they distract you, or assist you with writing?
Like I said earlier I have two kids and they actually motivate me to write. I also own two geese, two roosters, two dogs, two cats, and two bunny rabbits. I have a big yard.

16. Have you travel for your book, if so where?
I haven’t traveled for my book specifically, but I have used places that I travelled to in my books.

17. Do you have a muse? If you do, what do you love the most about him or her?
I guess that would be my wife. Basically all my main female leads are somehow connected to her in some way.

18. What are your next writing projects?
I’m busy with a story about a man, who starts seeing images and who is having dreams about people and places he don’t seem to remember. And he tries to figure out where he might know them from. But for now I’m gonna leave it at that.

19. What are your writing or publishing goals in the future?
No specific goals. I just wanna write because I enjoy it.

20. How can fans reach you directly?
They can follow me on my tumblrblog called timetravelepsychic.

8th round 3d

Please purchase 8th Round at this link Amazon

About Mary Sage Nguyen

Author, Dreamer, and Book Enthusiast! You can reach me at http://www.marysagenguyen.com/
This entry was posted in Author, Author interview, Blog Tour, Books, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

