Spin the Love by Lisa Terry

Spin the love banner

Book 02Spin the Love
Lisa Terry

Genre: Romance thriller, and suspense

Date of Publication: September, 2015

ISBN: 978-1517612535

ASIN: B0160QOTMM

Word Count: 57,668

Pages: 203

Book Blurb:

It was supposed to be a game to heat up their summer—not ruin their lives.
Sixteen-year-old Whispy Callahan lands in trouble thicker than Florida’s humidity when she plays a twisted game of Dare. Everything would have been fine if she hadn’t fallen for one of the player’s “targets” along with dredging up buried murderous tendencies. Forget the game—now Whispy needs to find her boyfriend’s murderer, but that might prove difficult since everyone thinks she’s insane. They could be right.
“Twisted” “Drop-your-jaw shocking” “Unforgettable” “I. Love. Whispy.”

Available at Amazon
Follow Lisa Terry Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram

5star

MY REVIEW:

Spin the Love is an addictive, and sexy romance suspense. The Whispy Callahan is sixteen. Making this unique romance thriller a young adult read. Whispy is a typical teenager, but the way Lisa Terry portrays her character she sounds wise beyond her years. Whispy has many internal thoughts throughout Spin the Love to make it even more intriguing. She has one love interest and it is Ej. He is a gentlemen, and kind. She falls fast for him. He is lovable at first. There is more than meets the eye, when it comes to Ej. The plot is solid, and keeps the readers estimating what will happen next. The end is inevitable, but necessary. Lisa is able to convey emotions well, and make the reader feel for her characters. I recommend this book for girls, and women because you will easily relate to Whispy and her predicament.

ABOUT AUTHOR:

Lisa TerryLisa Terry lives in the south, riding the state lines of Florida and Alabama. She has enough animals to call it a small farm, so she’s either insane or caring. Or insanely caring. She’s a print news reporter, an editor, and an aspiring Hogwarts student. On any given day, you can find Lisa playing video games, sitting on the beach, or organizing pet pageants. She gave up on fitting in a long time ago and now is fine with being called a walking contradiction. Lisa writes Young Adult and New Adult: contemporary, thriller, mystery, horror and paranormal.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW:

First I want to thank Lisa Terry for doing the interview with me. Read the interview below and found how intriguing she is.

1. What is your writing process? It depends on the story on what generally comes first. Sometimes characters come to me before the story – they pop right into my head. He or she already has a story, I can tell by their expressions, the look in their eyes. I have to figure out their story. Other times, the inspiration comes from my own wondering mind. I’ll think of What If scenarios that authors are so fond of exploring. What if two girls who hate each other, have committed viscous acts against each other for all of their high school years, and they’re currently arguing in a parking lot about the most recent embarrassing prank when a van rides by and kidnaps them both? What happens now? Those are situational things that inspire me – individual stories. Next comes an outline, character interviews, research.

2. Who are your largest author influences? I don’t know if you can call her my influence, but L.M. Montgomery is definitely my inspiration. I really love her style. She was able to make the setting of Prince Edward Island seem like an additional character. Hopefully, I’ve done the same with Spin the Love, which has somewhat of a gothic setting in St. Augustine, Florida. I also love J.K. Rowling’s creativity and the way she weaves mystery.

3. What is your favorite book? Hands down, my favorite book is Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery.

4. What is your latest news?

Two things actually.

  • I’ve written a book with my good friend Ashley Chegwyn, and it will be out next month. It’s called 17 Promises and is also a Young Adult.
  • The other news is that I’m having fan shirts designed. The first one is already available. It’s for Moment(s). Here’s the link http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01628AJ2M?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

5. What are the five things people do not know about you? 1. I hate walking around barefooted. 2. My love for miniature Christmas villages has bled into Halloween villages. 3. I fall asleep watching the ID channel every night. 4. I play Call of Duty better than my daughter. 5. Every bloody scene I write is a struggle because I can’t stand the site of blood. T.V. blood isn’t nearly as realistic to me as the bloody scenes in my imagination.

6. What genre do you write? Contemporary and Paranormal. Young Adult and New Adult. Romance, Suspense, Thriller, Psychological, Horror

7. What is your most recent book Spin the Love about? It’s about a girl who thinks her life is idealic and lovely, but there’s a secret buried deep inside her that is about to be revealed. That secret compounded with results from the game she’s playing to combat summer boredom – it’s enough to drive someone to violence or at least insanity.

8. How do you come up with characters for Spin the Love? Like my remark above, Whispy came to me before the story. I saw a girl in a twenties-style dress walking around a humid city at night. She didn’t want to go home, her emotions were all over the place. I wrapped a story around her.

9. What are your favorite characters in Spin the Love and Why? Of course Whispy is my favorite character with EJ being a close second. Another character who became more important to me than I’d expected was Great Aunt Whispy, a Flapper from the twenties and a big influence on Whispy.

10. Is there a message behind Spin the Love? Of course there is a theme but I try not to set out to “teach a lesson.” Anytime I start out a story and the thought pops into my head “this will teach people not to….” it’s time to put it away. My job is to give an escape, to entertain, not shove my ideals down peoples’ throats.

11. How many books do you read a year? It used to be hundreds, but now it’s about twenty.

12. What is the last book you read? The last book I read was a sneak peek into one of my friend’s books, but it’s out now, We Were Human by Kate L. Mary. Let me tell you, it will not disappoint!

13. What is the hardest part in writing Spin the Love? The hardest part about writing it was how personal it became. That’s all I’ll say about that. Another hard part was liking Whispy too much to make her do what my outline said she was supposed to do. I struggled over that scene for days.

14. What did you enjoy about writing Spin the Love? Being in Whispy’s head is so fun that it’s scary. Once you read it, you’ll understand that remark.

15. How long did it take for you to Spin the Love? I wrote Spin the Love in three months. This is from conception – brainstorming, outlining, etc – until The End.

16. Do you have any children or pets? If so, do they distract you, or assist you with writing? I have pets and children, and they’re huge distractions. Fortunately, they’re also fun to have around and even help out in the writing department.

17. Have you travel for your book, if so where? I never write a book in a setting that I haven’t been before. That being said, I have written in additional settings that I’ve never been, but the main setting, I was there. Usually it has to be multiple visits to the town, or even living there, before I’ll consider setting a story there. I’ve never lived in St. Augustine, so I made three trips there while writing Spin the Love, and once more afterward just to make sure I had certain things right.

18. Do you have a day job, you would be comfortable sharing? Do you have any good stories about your day job, you would like to share? I’m a newspaper editor and before that I was a news reporter. There are way too many stories, most of them embarrassing on my part (see aversion to blood above and add that to having to cover things such as wrecks and violent acts that involve blood-letting).

19. What are your next writing projects? My next writing project is a sequel to Moment(s). It’s called Moment(um). Of course, there’s my co-writing project, 17 Promises, that I must get in shape for publication next month.

20. What are your writing or publishing goals in the future? I’ve started three books in the past year or so that I absolutely have to finish.

21. How can fans reach you directly?
Twitter: @lisaslanding
Tumblr: authorlisaterry
Instagram: authorlterry
Facebook: lisaterryauthor
Pinterest: lisaterryauthor

Book 02

Purchase Spin the Love at Amazon

About Mary Sage Nguyen

Author, Dreamer, and Book Enthusiast! You can reach me at http://www.marysagenguyen.com/
This entry was posted in Author, Author interview, Blog Tour, Romance, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

