The Ivory Staff by M. Lachi

The Ivory Staff Banner

Iron staff 3dThe Ivory Staff
M. Lachi

Genre: Fantasy

Date of Publication: October, 2015

ISBN: 978-0692425640

Pages: 364

Book Blurb:

How was young Samiyah to know that her simple grace, wit, and beauty—exceptional traits given her peasant class—would land her in the middle of a chessboard of high-level political turmoil or that the love that blinds politics, the hate that blinds brotherhood, and the lust that blinds love would flip that chessboard on its side? Rife with passionate dialog, edgy suspense, and epic conflict, this Dark Fairy Tale follows our heroine as she journeys to heal a nation broken by the internal prejudices of class warfare, armed with nothing but stark determination.

Preorder at Amazon
Follow M. Lachi on Twitter, Facebook, and Website

ABOUT AUTHOR:

lachi_looking_out_of_the_windowM. Lachi is a published author and an award nominated songwriter and composer. Her resume includes features on Oprah Radio, CBS Radio, The CW, Oxygen, and the E! and Style Networks among others. M. Lachi lives in New York City with her life partner and enjoys reading, composing and catching live performances.

5star

MY REVIEW:

I have not finished reading the ivory staff, but once I do. I will post the review.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW:

First I want to thank M. Lachi for doing the interview with me. Read the interview below and found how intriguing she is.

1. What is your writing process? Hi Mary Sage, thanks for taking out the time to interview me here on your blog. I don’t necessarily have a specific writing process, as sometimes an idea for a story pops into my head in the shower or during a walk and pour out profusely once I sit at the computer to type. Other times, I write out a methodical outline, lines in which to draw.

2. What is the latest book you’ve read? Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein, my second read through. I’m now reading Pattern Recognition, by William Gibson.

3. What are five things people do not know about you? I tend to be pretty open; however, some factoids include: I am legally blind, I am a grammy-nominated songwriter, and I worked for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

4. What is your latest news? I will be releasing my debut full-length novel, The Ivory Staff on October 23 through Library Tales Publishing.

5. What genre do you write? Currently I am writing speculative and fantasy-tinged fiction; however, I am interested in penning narrative Memoirs and thought-provoking Children’s.

6. What is your most recent book The Ivory Staff about? It’s about? This is always a tough question for an author, though it shouldn’t be. The Ivory Staff is a story of how an island nation with a history of conflict between two major factions struggles to find peace. We follow a peasant girl, who’d lost everything to the monarchy, as she fights against age-old customs and practices to instate justice by any means.

7. Have you traveled for your book, if so where? While writing the book I traveled to England and Africa. Both visits heavily influenced the world building and character creation for the book.

8. What are your favorite characters in The Ivory Staff and Why? I do love them all, as they are all a small part of my innards, from the main characters tot eh unnamed guards.

9. Is there a message behind The Ivory Staff? One of the messages I hope to portray is that love–of one’s country, of one’s people, of a child or paramour, of a cause—can transform an individual and is a great motivator…a force that drives through the face of any adversity.

10. What are your next writing projects? I am currently whipping together three more novels, a book of short stories, and a possible memoire of one of my greatest heroines.

11. How can fans reach you directly? I can be found at http://www.mlachi.com, facebook.com/mlachiauthor, and twitter.com/mlachiauthor. At mlachi.com, you can find updates on upcoming happenings and events, updates to my blog, and contact info to send me direct feedback. Thank you again, Mary Sage, for such a wonderful interview!

Iron staff 3d

Preorder The Ivory Staff at Amazon

About Mary Sage Nguyen

Author, Dreamer, and Book Enthusiast! You can reach me at http://www.marysagenguyen.com/
This entry was posted in Author, Author interview, Blog Tour, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

