Jango and the Evil-Man People by Michael John Wilde

Jango and the Evil-Man People

AUTHOR INTERVIEW:

600_terrygarden

First I want to thank Michael John Wilde for doing the interview with me. Read the interview below and found how intriguing he can be.

1. What is your writing process?
I’m quite boringly structured; after breakfast, I work a normal eight to ten hours bashing away at the keys or researching. I also subscribe to the old principles that writing can often be like turning on a tap to find the water is cloudy. Let it run and the water becomes clear.

2. Who are your largest author influences?
Life and the stories that hit us by surprise every day.

3. What is your favorite book?
I’d like to be terribly intellectual, but I’ll read any “sand in the pages paperbacks” – easy reads and no need to be settled on beach chair in the Med.

4. What are the five things people do not know about you?
Now here’s a tricky one. Just read my latest book “To love a stranger” and pick out the actuals from the fiction.

5. What genre do you write?
Childrens’ interest, adult adventure, musical stories. I’ve also written screenplays adapted from “Jango and the Evil Man-People” plus two more screenplays adapted from my other books.

6. What is your most recent book Jango and the Evil Man-people about?
Jango, is a baby elephant who leaves the comfort of his home in Kenya to travel across Africa on his bicycle. He runs into many dangers along with friends he meets along the way. Inadvertently he becomes a worldwide circus star; making him a target to criminal factions determined to capture him for ransom.

7. How do you come up with characters for Jango and the Evil Man-people?
8. It started when I fell in love with sight of an orphaned baby elephant in South Africa. As the story developed so did the other characters. Some changed along the way and others have been introduced in the screenplay.

9. What are your favorite characters in Jango and the Evil Man-people and Why?
Apart from Jango who continues to break my heart, I’ve a fondness for Benny the Chimpanzee who never loses his mischievous character.

10. What is the Space for Giants charity and how does it relate to Jango and the Evil Man-people?
I came across Space for Giants coincidently when I was seeking a way to get the message across about elephants. Their only enemy – is man. Evengy Lebedev, owner of the Evening Standard, London’s premier evening newspaper, published three days of articles promoting charities working to eradicate poaching whilst bringing to our attention endangered animals. I was impressed by the work Dr Max Graham, CEO of Space for Giants, was already achieving. After a number of conversations with his charity we all agreed that “Jango and the Evil Man-People” was a perfect vehicle to help bring the message to the general public, whilst raising much needed cash for the charity.

11. Is there a message behind Jango and the Evil Man-People?
Oh yes –very simple, man is the greatest danger to all our endangered species. We have to stop the slaughter, if not soon then more of our precious creatures with remain just as images for future generations.

12. How many books do you read a year?
Probably a couple each month. Like most writers I spend most time re-reading my own mistakes.

13. What is the last book you read?
Silly as it may sound probably working drafts of mine and my publisher Donna’s sometimes saucy novels.

14. What is the hardest part in writing Jango and the Evil Man-people?
I guess its that strange feeling when you stop writing for the day and you’re uncertain where your pen will take the characters tomorrow. But even though sometimes the next move seems a million miles away, it always shows itself.
15. What did you enjoy about writing Jango and the Evil Man-people?
That’s simple, the way the plot and characters somehow seemed to be waiting to appear.

16. How long did it take for you to write Jango and the Evil Man-people?
The idea first came to me after meeting the baby orphan elephant some 10 years ago. At that time I made a few notes which were swallowed up amongst other story ideas. Then earlier this year, spurred on by Donna, my amazing publisher, I knocked out the first draft in three or four weeks. The final editing took much longer than writing it.

17. Do you have any children or pets? If so, do they distract you, or assist you with writing?
Lots of children, seven in fact, ranging from mid forties to ten years. I’d like to say they have influenced the story, but only one of my kids has given editorial comment. In fact more about my spelling!

18. Have you traveled for your book, if so where?
I first visited Africa in the early seventies and have continued my love affair with many of its countries to this day. So my research goes back many years.

19. Do you have a day job, you would be comfortable sharing? Do you have any good stories about your day job, you would like to share?
Day job, now there’s an interesting question. I guess I’m like many writers and hope for the future. My latest book “To Love a Stranger” probably answers your question, but of course one must never spoil a good story with the complete truth.

20. Do you have a muse? If you do, what do you love the most about him or her?
Sometimes it’s difficult to find the right words and timing to express what you feel to someone. So the answer is yes — but don’t ask!!!

21. What are your next writing projects?
I’m currently nearing completion of “Tommy Mac”. The story set in the early sixties of a talented Irish teenage musician who runs into trouble and spends several visits to prison. He is unaware that unknown family connections are sleepers in the IRA. They have ways of resolving his problems in the music industry.

22. What are your writing or publishing goals in the future?
To complete two more books next year, which are already planned. One being the next stage of Jango’s adventures. The other slightly more saucy, plotting the number of ladies who fall for the charms of a rapscallion English banker during his travels around the globe. It’s suggested title “100 and counting”

23. How can fans reach you directly?
I’m an open door. Phone number, e mail address on my web site http://www.michaeljohnwilde.com

Jango 3d

Purchase Jango and the Evil-Man People! PART OF THE PROCEEDS GO TO “SPACE FOR GIANTS”!

Amazon

Follow Michael John Wilde at Twitter

About Mary Sage Nguyen

Author, Dreamer, and Book Enthusiast! You can reach me at http://www.marysagenguyen.com/
This entry was posted in Author, Author interview, Blog Tour, Books, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

